h1

Rilke

October 9, 2009

Have any of you ever heard of the poetry book Rilke? It’s one of my personal favorites. I don’t own the book myself, but I read the quotes and poems online. Recently, I bought a book called Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater. In it, the main character Sam had used Rilke to learn German, since that was the language it was originally written in.
The book also contained one of my favorite poems from Rilke, translated to english of course.

“Again and again, however, we know the language of love,
and the little churchyard with its lamenting names and
the staggeringly secret abyss in which others find their
end; Again and again the two of us go under the
ancient trees, make our bed again and again between
the flowers, face to face with the skies.”

 

This is the UK cover.

Leave a comment